Are Ghost Cats Real?

Visits from feline friends after they’re gone

Nancy Parish
4 min readMay 13, 2023
What’s she staring at?/ Hermione Granger the cat courtesy of the author

There are times when I’m rushing around my condo, I’ll glimpse a flash of a tail or a paw belonging to a cat that’s no longer with me. Is it my imagination playing tricks on me or do our cats visit from the other world to check on us?

When I was napping a few weeks after my cat Nicky died, I saw her in a dream. She was the first cat I adopted as an adult. She lived with me for sixteen years and helped to solidify my status as a cat lady. She died after a long battle with heart disease.

I took her death especially hard. Nicky used to snuggle next to me when I’d nap. This was one of my first naps without her by my side. I was in that dream state, not quite awake, but not fully asleep either. I saw her clear as day, frolicking in a field chasing butterflies.

She stopped and nodded to me before turning and continuing after the butterflies. When I got up from that nap, I felt at peace for the first time since losing her.

Was it only a dream or did my cat come back to check on me?

I like to believe my dear sweet Nicky stopped by to tell me she was out of pain and doing fine and that I shouldn’t worry about her.

--

--

Nancy Parish

Amateur Cat Herder. Previously, Contributing Editor for CWIM. My ebook Life with Scout: The Blind Kitty Chronicles avail. https://thesoundandfurry.com/