How to Relax Like a Cat

You need it more than you think

Nancy Parish
4 min readJun 11, 2021
Harper sleeping rough / Photo courtesy of the Author

We are a society of stressed-out people. There’s no doubt about it. Granted, a global pandemic hasn’t helped our stress levels. As a society, we put in a ton of hours at work and often come home exhausted. And we’ve spent over a year working from home, stressing out about the state of our health, the health of our wallets, and the health of our planet.

When it comes to relaxing, we could learn a thing or three from cats. I’m a self-professed cat lady and therefore have casually studied the napping habits of felines for over twenty years. This, I feel, qualifies me as an expert on the fine art of napping. Also, a fun fact, my initials spell NAP. That’s further proof I know, whereof I speak.

First of all, the catnap. We often refer to a short nap as a cat nap. But, I suspect our naps do not resemble anything like a true cat nap. Cats, as a species, are connoisseurs of comfort, or Knights of the nap. Whatever you want to call them, when it comes to napping, cats know what they’re doing.

Location, location, location

When it comes to napping, it appears that cats choose odd places to fall asleep. How many times have you seen a cat crashed out on the floor? They look so comfortable it’s like their batteries ran out of juice and that’s…

--

--

Nancy Parish

Amateur Cat Herder. Previously, Contributing Editor for CWIM. My ebook Life with Scout: The Blind Kitty Chronicles avail. https://thesoundandfurry.com/