My Cats And The Eclipse

A full report on how they did

Nancy Parish
4 min readApr 10, 2024
Hermione at the window after the Eclipse / Photo courtesy of Author

On Monday, April 8, 2024, at 3:09 pm, we experienced a total eclipse in a large section of the United States. By all accounts, this was a rare phenomenon that wouldn’t be repeated in my area for at least twenty years.

We were inundated with information about the eclipse in the days and weeks leading up to it. Here in Cincinnati, we saw about 99.5% totality. A few short miles away in my Hometown, for a few minutes, they saw 100% totality.

Turns out less than one percent was literally the difference between day and night. While we didn’t have a completely dark sky, we did see some pretty impressive changes.

When I learned that my part of Cincinnati would see 99% totality, I wondered how my cats would react — would they react at all.

I had visions of them going into zoom mode at the moment darkness descended over my condo.

That’s not exactly what happened.

Experts have stated that there is much research available regarding how pets react to the eclipse. That means they may not care at all, be a little confused by the sudden darkness, or totally freak out. I guess it depends on where you’re located on the path of the eclipse and the personality of your pet.

Purrsonal Observation…

--

--

Nancy Parish

Amateur Cat Herder. Previously, Contributing Editor for CWIM. My ebook Life with Scout: The Blind Kitty Chronicles avail. https://thesoundandfurry.com/